30th Kinotavr Film Festival

The 30th Anniversary Russian Open Film Festival "Kinotavr" was held in Sochi from June 9 to 16. Studio SHANDESIGN was responsible for branding of the festival.

Intro

For many years, Sergey Shanovich and studio SHANDESIGN have been preparing the visual design of the Kinotavr Open Russian Film Festival. And the jubilee 30th year was not an exception.

The concept was based on light painting: drawing images on the film with a ray of light. Light is a key link in the life of cinema. Light captured the image on film. The projector light is a kind of brush that displays amazing pictures on the canvas of the movie screen.

This concept is supported in the graphic introductory video of the film festival created by the studio. The video demonstrates the 30-year history of the festival: the names of all the grand prize-winners appear in the darkness, and the light rays form a sphere similar to the sun - the Kinotavr symbol and logo.

Anniversary

Working with Kinotavr always brings wonderful creative results. Over the rich history of cooperation, a lot of interesting ideas have been embodied. From a splash of colors to Warhol-style airplanes, from drawing up a poster from the names of the laureates to playing with geometric shapes. And in 2018, we even sprayed graffity in an abandoned house. Naturally, by the thirtieth anniversary, the studio did something special and technological.

 

Big image

PRINTED PRODUCTS

Directly, the light-painting was used to create the number "30" and graphic design elements for posters, banners and dozens of other types of printed materials in various formats, prepared by the studio for the film festival design. In this count also included a poster for an exclusive event - a Lenny Kravitz concert.

Font

As part of the concept of light-painting, the studio made a special shooting to create the whole font. All letters and symbols are shot live, drawn by the light of a special lamp on the camera. Sergey Shanovich,the head of the studio SHANDESIGN, was drawing them personally.

     

OPTIONS

In the process of working with the concept, many design options were tried, which in the end were not accepted by the client, but we like.

Even before coming to the painting, we played around the theme of the anniversary (see video backstage poster with a cake below). At the beginning of the work, the client asked us to play a trick, and so a poster was born with a punk unicorn, which eventually went for print on hoodie.

Light experiments were first drawn on a computer, and later we shot live drawings using a special programmable robot, as well as with hand lamps directly in the studio.

 

CAKE BACKSTAGE

The creative process in the studio includes a lot: it is hard work, and the flight of thought, and a lot of fun, and even a little bit of self-sacrifice.

Project team

Creative Director and Calligraph | Sergey Shanovich

Creative | Tatyana Filimonova

Project Producer | Daria Selivanova

Motion design | Ilya Nikolaev

Art Director | Roman Schyukin

Designers | Catherine May, George Mamchur, Timothy Decalo

Photographer | Alexander Emmaus

Edition | Vyacheslav Druzhinin

Works

Все работы

30-й кинофестиваль «Кинотавр»

Юбилейный 30-й Открытый российский кинофестиваль «Кинотавр» проходил в Сочи с 9 по 16 июня. Студия SHANDESIGN отвечала за брендинг фестиваля.

Intro

Уже много лет Сергей Шанович и студия SHANDESIGN готовят визуальное оформление Открытого российского кинофестиваля "Кинотавр". И юбилейный 30-й год не стал исключением. 

В основу концепции легла светопись: фиксирование на пленке луча света, которым можно рисовать изображения. Свет - ключевое звено в жизни кинематографа. Светом запечатлевалось изображение на пленке. Свет проектора - своебразная кисть, выводящая на полотне киноэкрана удивительные картины. 

Эта концепция поддерживается в созданном студией графическом вступительном ролике кинофестиваля. Ролик демонтрирует 30-летнюю историю фестиваля: во тьме проявляются названия всех гранд-призеров, а световые лучи образуют сферу похожую на солнце - символ и логотип "Кинотавра". 

Юбилей

Работа с "Кинотавром" всегда приносит прекрасные творческие плоды. За богатую историю сотрудничества воплотилось очень много интересных идей. От всплеска красок до самолетиков в стиле Уорхола, от составления постера из имен лауреатов до игры с геометрическими фигурами. А в 2018-м году даже разрисовывали граффити в заброшенном доме. Естественно, к тридцатилетнему юбилею студия сделала что-то особенное и технологичное.  

Big image

Печатная продукция

Непосредственно светопись исполользовалась в создании цифры "30" и элементов графического дизайна для постеров, баннеров и десятков других наименований печатной продукции различных форматов, подготовленных студией для оформления кинофестиваля. В ее число также попала афиша для эксклюзивного события - концерта Ленни Кравица. 

Шрифт

В рамках концепции светописи студия произвела специальную съемку для создания целого шрифта. Все буквы и символы сняты вживую, нарисованы светом специальной лампы на камеру. Рисовал лично руководитель студии SHANDESIGN Сергей Шанович. 

 

     

Варианты

В процессе работы с концепцией было перепробовано множество вариантов дизайна, которые в итоге не были приняты клиентом, но нравятся нам. 

Еще до прихода к светописи обыгрывали тему юбилея (видео бэкстейдж постера с тортом смотрите ниже). В начале работы клиент просил нас похулиганить, и так родился постер с единорогом-панком, который в итоге ушел на принт толстовок. 

Эксперименты со светом сначала рисовали на компьютере, а позже уже снимали световые рисунки вживую при помощи специального программируемого робота, а также с ручными лампами непосредственно в студии. 

 

 

Торт бэкстейдж

Творческий процесс в студии включает в себя очень многое: это и усердный труд, и полет мысли, и масса веселья, и даже чуть-чуть самопожертвования. 

Команда проекта

Креативный директор и калиграф | Сергей Шанович
Креатив | Татьяна Филимонова 
Продюсер проекта | Дарья Селиванова   
Моушн дизайн | Илья Николаев
Арт-директор | Роман Щюкин 
Дизайнеры | Екатерина Май, Георгий Мамчур, Тимофей Декало 
Фотограф | Александр Эммаус
Монтаж | Вячеслав Дружинин

Работы

Все работы